Our Board of Directors

Charles Macek B.Ec., M.Admin, FAICD, FCA, FCPA, SF.Fin
Charles Macek B.Ec., M.Admin, FAICD, FCA, FCPA, SF.FinNon-Executive Chair
Mr Macek joined the Board on 3 December 2015 and was appointed Chair on 1 May 2016. He has a B.Ec. and M.Admin, both from Monash University; and, is a Fellow of the AICD, CPA, ICAA and a Senior Fellow of the Financial Services Institute of Australasia.

He is currently a Director of Windlab Ltd since July 2017; a Director of Sinefa Pty. Ltd.; a member of the Investment Committee at Unisuper Ltd.; and, a member of the ASIC Director Advisory Panel. He had a long executive career in financial services encompassing Australia, New Zealand, UK and Japan.

In his non- executive career he has been a Director of Telstra (2001-09) and Wesfarmers (2001-14;) and, is a former Chairman of IOOF and of the Financial Reporting Council; and was Vice-Chairman of the IFRS Advisory Council (2009-14), and was a member of the inaugural ASIC External Advisory Panel.

Leslie Butterfield BSc Civil Eng., AICD, AIPM, AIM
Leslie Butterfield BSc Civil Eng., AICD, AIPM, AIMNon-Executive Director
Ms Butterfield joined the Board on 1 May 2016. She holds a Bachelor of Science Civil Engineering from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, NY. She is currently a Non Executive Director of RKF Engineering and the Australian Literacy and Numeracy Foundation, and until August 2017 was also a Non-Executive Director of UniQuest.

Leslie’s international and local experience spans project management, business development, corporate advisory, corporate finance, strategic planning and operational management in the construction, technology and telecommunications sectors.

She served on the Board of Australia’s largest public R&D fund and was one of a panel of three industry representatives appointed by the nine government ministers to review the progress, strategies and future direction of the National Building Codes Board. Ms Butterfield is the Chair of the Remuneration Committee.

John T. Kopcheff B.Sc (Hons) (Geology and Geophysics), SPE, AIMM
John T. Kopcheff B.Sc (Hons) (Geology and Geophysics), SPE, AIMMNon-Executive Director
Mr Kopcheff was appointed to the Board on 13 July 2006. He is a geologist and geophysicist, and holds a Bachelor of Science (Honours) from the University of Adelaide (1970). He has extensive experience in Australia, South East Asia, USA, South America and the North Sea, in field operations and management, including sales for a division of a major service company to the oil industry, Baker-Hughes.

Mr Kopcheff held the position of Managing Director of Victoria Petroleum Ltd (now Senex Energy Ltd) from August 1984 until late July 2010 and continued on their board as Executive Director until resigning on 22 September 2010.

He was also a non executive director of Great Panther Silver Limited from August 2001 through to 30 June 2012 when he resigned from the position. Mr Kopcheff is the Chair of the Audit Committee and a member of the Remuneration Committee.

Samuel R. Marks CA, B.Bus.
Samuel R. Marks CA, B.Bus.Managing Director
Mr Marks was appointed as Managing Director on 1 July 2012. Mr Marks has nearly 20 years of global commercial experience across accounting, consulting, corporate finance and corporate roles. He commenced his career with Coopers & Lybrand (PwC) in the Middle Market team, followed by Arthur Anderson (now KordaMentha) in their advisory/insolvency team.

Prior to founding the Toroso Group (subsequently Main Street Capital) in 2009, Mr Marks completed 7 years within General Electric based in Australia and the United States and was responsible for leading and executing projects across the US, UK, Europe, Australia, China and Hong Kong.

Mr Marks is a Chartered Accountant with a Bachelor of Business and is Six Sigma qualified through General Electric. He is also a director of The Melbourne Foundation, a not-for-profit organisation which provides education opportunities for financially disadvantage youths. Mr Marks has not held any other directorships of listed companies during the three year period prior to 30 June 2018.

Philip Zajac B.Comm, F.Fin
Philip Zajac B.Comm, F.FinNon-Executive Director
Mr Zajac was appointed to the Board on 4 September 2014, and has over 30 years of commercial experience in the finance industry. He is currently an executive director of the Erdi Group of companies, a director of Erdi Fuels Pty Ltd, and a non-executive director of NewCO2Fuels Ltd (Israel).

Mr Zajac is involved in the development, ownership and management of eight hotels in Victoria, Sydney and Brisbane, along with the design and construction of affordable student housing and apartments.

He also runs an extensive philanthropy programme across Australia and overseas. No other directorships of listed companies were held at any time during the three years prior to 30 June 2018.

Mr Zajac is also a member of the Audit Committee and of the Remuneration Committee.

Elizabeth Aris
Elizabeth ArisNon-Executive Director
Ms. Aris is a senior business executive with experience in the US (NYC), APAC (Shanghai) and Australia with global Fortune 500 companies in Telecommunication, Technology and Retail Banking.

She has worked with Telstra, Alcatel-Lucent (now Nokia), and Westpac and consulted to Microsoft and Sprint. She is also a Digital technology entrepreneur who developed a disruptive digital Software-as-a-Service (SaaS) business from concept to capital raising, governance, technology build and all operations. She has recently returned to Australia after 5 years in the USA.

Ms. Aris has a track record of revenue growth and cost-out transformation programs at scale and has been a Chief Marketing and Strategy Officer known for her innovation of business models.

She has worked as part of a small team of global telecommunication experts on a number of M&A projects and as advisers to the CEO of Sprint on the end to end turn around.

Chris Hayes, B.Bus(Acc), Grad Dip (Info Sys), CPA
Chris Hayes, B.Bus(Acc), Grad Dip (Info Sys), CPACompany Secretary & CFO
Mr Hayes was appointed to the role of Company Secretary and CFO effective 1 May 2018.

Mr Hayes is an experienced CFO, Company Secretary and Finance Executive with over 20 years of local and international experience.

Energy Efficient
LED Lighting
Lighting System
Commercial IoT
Lighting Systems